What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

First Pin project. Mr & Mrs Pacman

OP
itsmecurrie

itsmecurrie

Registered
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
57
Location
Belfast
Folks, was hoping to pick up an Alltek mpu end of the month to start looking into getting the pin up and running but noticed they are out of stock (since I last checked) at

I've spotted the eurodash boards for a similar price in the UK. Though no one here recommend that brand. It was all votes for Alltek, any particular reason for that?


Thanks

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk
 

Moonraker

Site Supporter
Joined
Aug 18, 2011
Messages
5,202
Location
Salisbury
Altek are well known proven tech that are changeable between older games. Can't say I've particularly heard of the eurodash boards.
 
OP
itsmecurrie

itsmecurrie

Registered
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
57
Location
Belfast
The eurodash board is designed/produced by Jamie at coinop king. You have to install the relevant game ROMS into it, so not as easy to use as the Alltek board.

https://www.coinopking.co.uk/pinballspareparts?category=Circuit+Boards
Yeah I saw they will include a set of ROMs for free on request. But maybe it's all just easier with an Alltek. I'll have to wait until they come back in stock I guess, feel like a tube for not buying it the other week

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk
 
OP
itsmecurrie

itsmecurrie

Registered
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
57
Location
Belfast
Made a start on cleaning the play field yesterday, and bloody hell it's no easy task. I'm chewing through magic erasers like crazy.

Took the majority of the surface grime and gunk off with 99% IPA very cautiously fearing it might take the paint off./, Thankfully it didn't. Then I used Novus 2 with the magic eraser but I burnt through two erasers in a single day and honestly only got a couple of keys scrubbed. Me multi pack of erasers already ordered.

Couple of questions though.

1. I noticed the clear coat on the unpainted areas like the drain the plunger area has wore away. I assume I can just spot clear coat this back on and wax & polish to smooth the surface?

2. Also I noticed at the upper end of the shooter lane is not smooth at all. It's like someone sanded it, didn't remove the debris and then clear coated it. Surely this needs to be super smooth?
e5a2d8b7bae8a8ac5bc2fb040c369e74.jpg
c5a7c2df9e8b7c5f6e1706ef2201ca8b.jpg
cce7f38f6d96a32f16651b0f50a29bbe.jpg
a19c3e2f9545f347278bb502a2febbc4.jpg
315c00c4d450ce4861af152173cfbb89.jpg
28e9b5409d34e7f57f32794a6c6c4a19.jpg
c49f105ba80993716fe82e6b14768848.jpg
eed15ce5f8c6e99a1bdebe82e6c55a76.jpg
644228d9ea4c37f6438a43dce8385635.jpg
4cebcf96d5893d7ce38f94a178ad283f.jpg
450b41eb69f73dfce0956e9019eec302.jpg
 
OP
itsmecurrie

itsmecurrie

Registered
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
57
Location
Belfast
Looking good
Some people have clear coat the whole area of the plunger , not done that myself though !!
I'd definitely need to do something with it that's for sure. I wonder if I should sand to a smooth finish and then clear coat hopefully not making a dog's dinner of it

Sent from my LE2113 using Tapatalk
 
OP
itsmecurrie

itsmecurrie

Registered
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
57
Location
Belfast
After all the fantastic & extremely rationale advice from you guys, rather than suffer the battery leakage issues with my existing board I finally got my hands on an Alltek MPU today. That's my plans for the weekend sorted
79dd23ed37fb1e312821ff1f340b4c29.jpg


Sent from my LE2113 using Tapatalk
 
OP
itsmecurrie

itsmecurrie

Registered
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
57
Location
Belfast
Folks. I feel I've made a mistake here. I bought the Bally 05/1980-03/1988 flipper rebuild kit for my machine.

And I'm missing a coil bracket and upon asking on Facebook forums about it I'm still being told to get better flippers

Have I foolishly fallen victim to just buying a new version of the original bad design and should have purchased a link version instead? And if so what link set would work on this machine?

Alternatively if the kit I have is ok could someone point me to somewhere in the UK to get one of the coil brackets please, I'm struggling to find a retailer who has them.

956640d6ad2cdea40f6948656da253fa.jpg
e910320ab26d1d24936f631159f0fbee.jpg
7a7cc0dc68627af51ed0addd48dbea9e.jpg
84e5e153271a79cedd32d57cace19c18.jpg


Sent from my LE2113 using Tapatalk
 

BigIan

Site Supporter
Joined
Jul 21, 2011
Messages
4,073
Location
Belfast, Northern Ireland
I’d send Andy an email at pinball mania, he has loads of stuff not listed on his site.

people are always telling people to replace linear flippers but I’d stick with the originals I think...

failing Andy I’d try Dave at pinballhaze or Phil at pinball heaven

www.pinballmania.co.uk
https://www.facebook.com/Pinball-Daze-316896398383225/
www.pinball.do.uk

don’t know what’s going wrong with those links, might need to copy and paste
 

stevebm1

Registered
Joined
May 26, 2014
Messages
1,259
Location
uk
considering the amount of people who hate linear flippers and replace them with the earlier ones,someone must have that bracket in their spares
 
OP
itsmecurrie

itsmecurrie

Registered
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
57
Location
Belfast
I’d send Andy an email at pinball mania, he has loads of stuff not listed on his site.

people are always telling people to replace linear flippers but I’d stick with the originals I think...

failing Andy I’d try Dave at pinballhaze or Phil at pinball heaven

www.pinballmania.co.uk
https://www.facebook.com/Pinball-Daze-316896398383225/
www.pinball.do.uk

don’t know what’s going wrong with those links, might need to copy and paste
Brilliant Ian. I'm already in talks with Andy about gets some more blubs ordered in for the pacmaze, so I'll ask him about this also

And thanks for the reassurance of the linear flippers. Might not be the best but I'd like to experience the fame as it was intended.



Sent from my LE2113 using Tapatalk
 
OP
itsmecurrie

itsmecurrie

Registered
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
57
Location
Belfast
Latest update on the machine, I've borked the power rectifier I think. Like a Muppet I wasn't getting GI for some reason after I replaced my flipper mechs. Only underplay field lighting was working. All lighting once worked after I installed the new MPU a month ago. No clue what I did wrong but I'd say, having the machine powered up and pulling bulbs wasn't smart.

Now I'm not getting any conductivity on BR2 from the +/- points on the rectifer board. Idiot
ea9ac72a9719cd913326b810725cbb52.jpg


Sent from my LE2113 using Tapatalk
 

AlanJ

Site Supporter
Joined
Dec 27, 2017
Messages
3,911
Location
Leeds, West Yorkshire
have you got your meter on dc voltage?

do you get an ac voltage across the two ac pins of the bride rectifier (put your meter) on ac voltage to check this

have you checked the fuses on that power board
 
OP
itsmecurrie

itsmecurrie

Registered
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
57
Location
Belfast
The fuses are all conducting so nothing blown there I think. I'm getting 7.3v on TP1 , 6.1v on TP4

Sent from my LE2113 using Tapatalk
 

crsedgar

Registered
Joined
Jun 12, 2016
Messages
309
Location
DUNDEE
Question - What do people use to mask off windows etc before spraying... Anyone got a video of the process??
(I'm looking to use this not on a pin but an old 70's Brenco Silver Chest where the glass is _Just_ starting to go on the bottom...)

View attachment 136740
In the 'This Old Pinball' videos they just lay down some thick card cut to size over the windows and spray on the triple thick @Paul

Edit; with a coin on top as Carl mentioned. It in one of the EM restore videos.
 
Last edited:

AlanJ

Site Supporter
Joined
Dec 27, 2017
Messages
3,911
Location
Leeds, West Yorkshire
If part of your gi has gone, and part still working then i’d check connectors on the wires from the playfield that plug into other things - especially if there are any in-Line connector to connectors as those can come loose if not pushed fully home
 
OP
itsmecurrie

itsmecurrie

Registered
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
57
Location
Belfast
As it turns out it's all the GI not working. The single bulb on the left that's working is actually the credit insert bulb. I will recheck all connections though once again. Nightmare

Sent from my LE2113 using Tapatalk
 
Last edited:
OP
itsmecurrie

itsmecurrie

Registered
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
57
Location
Belfast
We are back business. I took out the power rectifier board, and the lamp driver board. Cleaned around connectors with 99% IPA. Took out fuses and gave them a clean. Plugged it all back in and hooked up the Pacmaze board. And boom it's all working again (well the bulbs that were lighting up before, there's still some not working even with new bulbs) Phew not as bad as I thought
646aef884785f5fb86d79f0c5a98b85b.jpg


Sent from my LE2113 using Tapatalk
 
OP
itsmecurrie

itsmecurrie

Registered
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
57
Location
Belfast
Well I'm back again... Spoke too soon. The GI is still not working, and now that single bulb that was under the credit light is now longer working either I've poked about the rectifier board and noticed the R1 600 ohm 10 watt ceramic resistor was hot to touch, like really frigging hot. Tested for continuity across and got nothing. The smaller ceramic resistor beside it is giving continuity so I'm assuming this might be culprit.

I'll get this machine working by 2026 at this rate



Sent from my LE2113 using Tapatalk
 
OP
itsmecurrie

itsmecurrie

Registered
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
57
Location
Belfast
it should get hot. if it’s getting hot it’s working
Damn... But no continuity? Crap just when I thought I'd maybe figured it out the issue. Not sure where to check now then.

No GI at all anymore and sporadic lights under the playfield including the pacmaze work

Sent from my LE2113 using Tapatalk
 
Top Bottom