What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New code updates for insider

Colywobbles

Site Supporter
Joined
Nov 9, 2016
Messages
1,856
Location
Sunderland
Alias
Colin Chapman
So I have a few of these pins can I just hardwire them or do I have to buy the wifi and apron stuff.

1B4B54BE-D715-4F42-8604-A0F068992344.jpeg
 

Fubar

Site Supporter
Joined
Feb 5, 2020
Messages
701
Location
Cambridge, UK
Alias
Thomas
I wonder if you can't get a cheap USB wifi dongle and use that to get the machine online. You won't get the QR code login but should work for code updates?

The only issue is it will need to use a chip which is supported by the MPU.

Edit: this is the one included in stern's kit, so should be compatible: https://www.canakit.com/raspberry-pi-wifi.html
 

Neil McRae

Site Supporter
Joined
Jun 5, 2016
Messages
13,727
Location
Surrey
Alias
Neil McRae
I was thinking the same thing, but also maybe taking the one out of GZ just to try it
 

Neil McRae

Site Supporter
Joined
Jun 5, 2016
Messages
13,727
Location
Surrey
Alias
Neil McRae
no, I wondered about that too. I assumed it was something to do with the reader as the CPU doesn't need anything...
 

Gonzo

Site Supporter
Joined
Sep 2, 2019
Messages
2,023
Location
Sandhurst
Alias
Kris
We don't need this though right? Doesn't look like there are any real code improvements that impact the gameplay or rules.

I'm assuming the main benefit is if you're changing the apron to the QR reader?
 

Fubar

Site Supporter
Joined
Feb 5, 2020
Messages
701
Location
Cambridge, UK
Alias
Thomas
And so it begins- imdn pro can 'I play with madness' mode added but only if connected to ic!
It was always in the code too - I remember playing it on mine after hooking into the mode start logic.

But yeah, expect more of this kind of stuff. Lots more.
 

Andydn

Site Supporter
Joined
Oct 14, 2019
Messages
1,248
Location
Kent
And so it begins- imdn pro can 'I play with madness' mode added but only if connected to ic!
That’s shocking!! Bang out of order, especially as I pay for Stern Insider too just don’t have the ‘Connected’ kit!
 

kevlar

Site Supporter
Joined
Apr 11, 2013
Messages
5,580
Location
Newport, South Wales
Alias
Kevin Donovan
That’s shocking!! Bang out of order, especially as I pay for Stern Insider too just don’t have the ‘Connected’ kit!
Yeah that's a bit ****, we've all seen dlc coming via insider connected but I expected it to be paid dlc or via a subscription, not locked behind the connected hardware! :mad: . Has anyone heard a UK price yet for kits?
 

Ads Nems

Site Supporter
Joined
Feb 6, 2012
Messages
293
Location
Radlett
Alias
Adam
Yeah that's a bit ****, we've all seen dlc coming via insider connected but I expected it to be paid dlc or via a subscription, not locked behind the connected hardware! :mad: . Has anyone heard a UK price yet for kits?

It’s $199 in the USA so I’d imagine a similar figure with a £ sign at the front for the UK
 

Neil McRae

Site Supporter
Joined
Jun 5, 2016
Messages
13,727
Location
Surrey
Alias
Neil McRae
are you honestly moaning about getting more stuff for you game? Yesterday you didn't have it and you thought tomorrow I won't have it. Then stern give you something in exchange for something else that they DON'T have to give you...

think of us LE owners, we get nothing for our money! :D :D :D :D
 

Andydn

Site Supporter
Joined
Oct 14, 2019
Messages
1,248
Location
Kent
are you honestly moaning about getting more stuff for you game? Yesterday you didn't have it and you thought tomorrow I won't have it. Then stern give you something in exchange for something else that they DON'T have to give you...

think of us LE owners, we get nothing for our money! :D :D :D :D
Don’t know who this is aimed at but I’m moaning as they gave something extra in an update that not only doesn’t work as it should but has also messed up the Standard game too! - That’s very very poor.
 

Neil McRae

Site Supporter
Joined
Jun 5, 2016
Messages
13,727
Location
Surrey
Alias
Neil McRae
so I don't disagree on that Andy - they shouldn't release bad code but they will fix that. I predict before the end of the week or early next week.

I'm more focused on those moaning that they can't play modes without the SIC kit.
 

Gonzo

Site Supporter
Joined
Sep 2, 2019
Messages
2,023
Location
Sandhurst
Alias
Kris
If I'm understanding this correctly the update has broken Black Knight SOR? I guess you'll have to wait for the programmers to sort a software fix but probbaly wise to hold off on further updates.

I really hope that they test future code updates better than this before they start updating peoples pins automatically.
 
Top Bottom