What's new

Data East Chase lights ST25 Hook LED conversion

ronnie63

Site Supporter
Over the last few weeks I have been refurbishing my ST25 after it had been in storage for 15+ years I'm almost finished and intend to start a thread about it soon. One of the finishing touches are the ramp chase lights these seem to always be shot! anyway I stripped down the tube containing the lamp strings and thought this is a mess! both tubes had shorts which had taken out the TIP devices on the driver board! So I'm going to attempt a SMD LED conversion and am awaiting parts to be delivered, will log with pictures my progress or failings however it works out lol. watch this space! of course if anyone else would like to chip in with what they have done or would do please feel free

Thanks Ronnie

First part to arrive clear tube to house blue SMD Led's, slightly thicker but hope it will blend in with the ramps being clear?

Attachments

• DSC04532.JPG
    DSC04532.JPG
    32.7 KB · Views: 21
Have made one side but nobody seems to be interested? if not I won't bother updating the thread

Thanks Ronnie

I'm following your work here. Got a problem with my Hook chase lights and I'm not sure what to do about it.

I can have any two of the three threads connected and it all works OK, but if I connect all three then after the chase-lights have been activated for a while they fail and take out the music with them.

Er... weird or what?

I've replaced a few bits on the driver board but that hasn't changed anything. I also picked up a spare rope on ebay but it behaves exactly the same way.

There's an outfit in Germany that does a repro driver board for about 24 euros (not sure on the postage) and I might just buy one when I get back from my hols.

But if that doesn't work I'm stuck. Maybe a brand new rope would help me.

Keep going please!

Sounds cool I would like to know if this could be used in a stargate back box light rope, bloody annoying when one bulb goes out!