What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Complete Tommy - My first pinball shop

Julian

Site Supporter
I've been enjoying collecting pinballs for around 30+ years, in that time I've fixed the usual stuff, installed mods, cleaned playfield, diagnosed board issues (with the help of others), had said boards repaired by Phil @ Pinball Heaven, but never attempted a pinball ship out!

To be honest it scared the bejeebers out of me! I mean how the hell will I get it back together.

Anyway having just purchased a Tommy that had a couple of VUKs that didn't work! Only for me to find out that it was in a real state (battery acid leakage, GI connectors badly burnt, cut wires, fuses being blown, filthy), I thought a) I'll never get my money back on this machine or b) I really really wanted a Tommy so its about time I learnt this art.

That said I have started the long and some what scary task of 'shopping' this machine.

I have thus far stripped most items form the top of the playfield so I could clean it as it was so dirty even if it had worked and not blown fuses I really would not have put the rusty balls round the playfield, sadly I did not do a before photo, but I have been taking photos of the strip down (loads of them), so here is one of the rear of the playfield;
IMG_20150404_193409.jpg

During my strip down I a) took loads of photos, b) did sections / key things in parts and kept them in separate plastic boxes each with their own notes and photos, that way when they went into the tumbler all together I could later on know what the parts and screws were for;

IMG_20150411_101604.jpg

The playfield clean up is complete, I have used Novus 3 & 2, carnauba wax, Novus 2, Millwax, and then another coat of carnauba wax.