What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

TOM power issues... what is going on here!

RigidCollision

Registered
Hi guys,
This is my first post on the forum. So hello to everyone!
I have TOM that I have been running for 15 years. My greatest pinball purchase!

Today I powered it on and I got a scrambled display, transformer hum, a single *bing!* and then nothing. No lights on the play field or header. No apparent power to the play field at all, no further sound. I think the scrambled display is power related. It's a new colour replacement screen.

Every time I power on it does the same thing as mentioned above.

The machine has not been moved, is in awarm and dry environment etc.

Fuses all seem fine.
TP1 12v is testing at 13v.
TP2 5v is reading a fraction under 5v.
TP3 12v is just under 12v.

I checked J116, J117, J118. Can't see any obvious loose/disconnects, no scorching. No signs of obvious degradation/dirt/corrosion

Tested J606 with its plug connected.
12v unr = 13v
5v = 4.8v
Checked ground was OK.

I am stumped where to go from here.
Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards,

Sounds like its fubared. I have wine. How much do you want for it?

Locate the connector on the power board below the short Grey ribbon cable. Pull it off and put it back on again. See if that does anything.

I suspect your cpu is not running. One of the leds on it should be flashing if it is running. If not then you either have a poor power supply to it or a data problem ( try Reseatting the top two ribbon cables ) , or a cpu fault.

Reseatting that connector often helps with the power problem but won’t cure it for ever.

Popped the connector off and reseated it. No obvious problems with it.
Power on does not produce the flashing "I'm alive" LED as expected.