What's new

Newbie costs info.

zapiy

Registered
Hi all,

Forgive me if this question has been asked before but for a newbie like me what is the cheapest way to get into owning my own pinball machine, which machines are cheapest in good condition? I am an engineer and able to handle a multimeter/scope so fixing a machine up should be relatively easy for me given time lol.. So would that be a good starting point.

Just looking at options at the moment and thanks in advance of any input.

Cheers

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Cheapest is probably to buy a working project

I.E. something that works but needs fixing up, needs new plastics, bulbs or rubbers etc or even needs major work to the cabinet

that way you can enjoy it and fixit up as you go.
If you buy a complete project you would possibly lose interest before you get it working or have to throw money at it.

If your working project has a problem then you can seek advise on here on how to fix it (as you know it worked) if its a total project you might have bits missing or multiple problems etc

Cheers
Ian

I got my first machine last year and only found/joined this forum last week. Reading the 'EBay auctions 2015' thread has been a real eye opener and I wouldn't buy from there if I couldn't visit the machine in person first.

Hi all,

Forgive me if this question has been asked before but for a newbie like me what is the cheapest way to get into owning my own pinball machine, which machines are cheapest in good condition? I am an engineer and able to handle a multimeter/scope so fixing a machine up should be relatively easy for me given time lol.. So would that be a good starting point.

Just looking at options at the moment and thanks in advance of any input.

Cheers

Cheapest way would probably be an old Electro Mechanical machine, but most are more interested in the DMD games and they are more expensive. Maybe tell us your budget and what games might interest you.