What's new

new member looking for advice

oltarmac

Registered
hi everybody,
ive just joined this forum, im new to pinball and havent really played since i was a kid. im looking for advice on what table and where to buy and obviously what to look out for.
i need something that is nice to the eye as well because it will be kept in the house.
i hope you can help.

Welcome to the best pinball forum in the UK!

before buying any machine I would suggest you try to play as many tables as you can to get a feel for whats available. If you can't find any in the wild, maybe a local pinhead would be happy to let you play on their machines. I'm in Essex but would be happy to let a newbie try out my machines.

DMD machines (early 1990's to 2000) are very popular and hold their price well. they are easy(ish) to maintain and spares are readily available for most titles.
If you buy wisely you should be able to have fun for a while and sell without too much of a loss.

Ask lots of questions as all the guys on here are very friendly and will encourage you to buy a machine, but be warned it's very addictive!

Welcome to the forum,
You are pretty lucky as your local to a few forum members, from who all would be happy to let you play there machines and also give you advice on all things pinball.
There are members in the following areas, Chorley, Leyland, Burnley, Blackpool and Bolton.
Let me know if you are interested and I could set something up for you.
D.

thanks guys, fantastic response already. im not sure what my budget is really, i need to get this month out of the way and am hoping to be back on my feet by the middle of february. as a first machine i would guess around £700 would be nice, but i may go as high as £1200-1500.
ive seen one, indianapolis 500 and also "corvette" i quite like the car theme, although nightmare on elm st also looked good.
im not looking for anything rough in appearence neither,