What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hi All, Newbie to Pinball Info, seeking help on Sorcerer....

IBUR

Registered
Would love to say I am an experienced pinball repairer, but sadly very much not the case. I am new to poking around in the cabinet, and freaked out by the schematics.

However, I am diving in, and have been working on a Sorcerer that was garage stored for several years. It's in pretty good shape, and have so far stripped the deck, new rubbers, repaired couple targets, and all the mechanicals are cleaned and working. But, the original gas plasma display is not.

Anyone know if just the glass displays can be bought anywhere? I see new LED replacements available, but would like to keep as original as possible.

1 of the 4 displays works fine, and does so in each player from 1 to 4, so the board and electrics seem fine (?). The other displays are either missing digits, or show nothing at all. (The issue on each display moves with the display glass as I move it around the players). Credits are out too.

Feels like a waste to replace the the board and electrics if they are OK, but not having any luck finding replacement displays or anyone who is able to refurbish. Anyone know if they can be either sourced or repaired?

Many thanks.

If some of the digits light up on the displays it might be worth trying to reflow the solder on the display and input header pins first before writing them off.

It terms of what I have seen for price you might be better off buying the replacement xpin or rottendog display kits as they work out about the same price and possibly less likely to fail than used parts, and then you can also pull the fuse on the 100v section of the power supply.