What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Getting started with TZ

Durzel

Registered
Hi,

Have this weekend picked up a lovely fully refurbished & modded TZ. I've reset it to factory settings and the only thing I've changed is disabling the extra ball buy-in.

I'm new to playing it in the flesh and this is my first pin as well, so have a few questions.
  • After the Powerball is released into play it ends up living in the ball trough - cycled into play like a normal ball - until it gets shot back in the Gumball machine by a player. is this right? Shouldn't the machine automatically put it back in the Gumball machine at the end of each game? A friend of mine is adamant that when he played TZ back in the day that the only time he ever got the Powerball was by earning it during play.

The machine does correctly recognise that it is a Powerball every time it sees it, announcing it regularly, etc.

• On the odd occasion after a skill shot the ball will just miss falling into the Rocket, and will drop down to the flippers instead. I would say that this happens maybe once every 20 or so times, maybe more. Is that "just the way pins are" or an alignment issue?

• My TZ has a Colour DMD - the seller told me that the letters, etc could be set up to be "dotted" (as it is currently) or solid. I would guess there are also brightness and contrast settings somewhere. Where would I change this stuff? I guess it's not on the regular machine settings toggles?
Thanks in advance :)

Yeah the power all will be like that until you manage to load it back in the gumball machine.

There are buttons in the board on the back of the LCD screen to scroll through the menus and change settings