What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

DMD graphics missing some detail - with possible solution

Vince69619

Registered
Hi All,

I had an intermittant problem with my DW machine and the DMD. I am still learning how these things work as my background is self taught electronics rather than looking after pinball machines, but this is what I saw and did...

Mostly the graphics were ok, scores and general images seemed good, but some images, especially the people (Ace & Doctor) whould be really rough on the DMD. Ace would look like a skeleton sometimes. But this would only be for short periods and then it would go back again. As a fault finder, I usually take a guess at what this could be and I totally incorrectly guessed that the DMD controller was loading these more detailed game specific images from an eprom on the controller board and there might be a multiplexer with a lazy bit. I couldn't have been more wrong.