What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Calling Centaur Owners

DRD

Registered
My Centaur is pretty tired so is getting some tlc and amongst other things, I have rebuilt the flippers, new cab flipper switches, new eos switches, new plungers, coil stops, liners etc.

Are you able to backhand this shot from the right flipper, the white "spots 1-4 drop targets" ?

Mine is better than it was but still pathetically weak. It makes the shot about 1 time in 3, but the ball is crawling when it gets there ...

image.jpeg

Thanks

I've just tested mine and it hits that target really hard with the right flipper. I don't know what it was like before I got it but I fitted new flipper kits (not new coils) as part of my recent playfield swap. I'm no expert at all as this is my first machine and almost complete rebuild but I do know that the EOS contact setup was important as was the flipper bat alignment.

Reactions: DRD
I rebuilt the flippers with a new set of pre-linear mechs used in the earlier games like Paragon

I fear that to hit this shot you need the linear mechs in unfortunately, I do have a new linear kit that I may have to try

Linear v non-linear is an old chestnut I know

Those are beautifully clean linear flippers!

Where did you get the eos switches from pls ? Those look just like the original ones fitted 25 years ago

The pre-linear flippers are lighter - they have a lighter plunger so are more responsive and snappier, but this makes them harder to aim shots and catch balls on. It is also easier to do tap passes with linear flippers

You can easily swap between the two different types if your startng point is the linears. Swings and roundabouts. But if you raise the subject it gets bitter, like Brexit debates, very quickly