What's new

WH20 no playfield flashers + one stuck on

Cookizza

Site Supporter
Hi all,

First of all a big thanks to all the people who have give us advice, sold us parts and given word of encouragement in fixing up this Wh20.

I'm still struggling to get our playfield flashers up and running. I will try to list below the observations we've made so far.

- The whirlpool enter flasher (#23) stays on as soon as the game is powered on. Had to remove the bulb to stop.
- No playfield flashers go in test mode.
- Removing CPU ribbon from power driver, whirlpool stays on (not a CPU issue)
- All flashers have 20v - 21v when testing their prongs while grounding the DMM.
- All flashers fire when manually grounding their TIP102 chips via the braid & tab
- All TIP102 (including #23's Q28) seem to test fine (not stuck open) by doing a buzz test between legs
- Pre drivers seem ok based on my amateur DMM tests while machine is on

I am not very experienced when it comes to PCBs, but I can follow instructions well and know to follow a table / matrix. If someone is able to help us continue to diagnose this, it would be realllllly appreciated.

Now the wildcard, which may be related. Our power driver board has a repair hack on the IC's - I have no idea what it is for, perhaps shorted trace behind the chip? I was told these are for the Solenoids, but I also know flashers run on solenoid so am nervous perhaps the issues all come from this repair. I have attached pictures which hopefully show what's going on

I don't have a logic probe, but happy to use the DMM if instructed to test whatever may need testing.

Really appreciate any help here

Josh

Attachments

• WhatsApp Image 2019-08-09 at 10.35.41.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2019-08-09 at 10.35.41.jpeg
    126.6 KB · Views: 21
  • WhatsApp Image 2019-08-09 at 10.35.33.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2019-08-09 at 10.35.33.jpeg
    162.4 KB · Views: 21
  • WhatsApp Image 2019-08-09 at 10.35.47.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2019-08-09 at 10.35.47.jpeg