What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Restoring a pinball machine

Pinballrob10

Registered
Afternoon all. Looking at getting my first pin which is going to be a modern stern but an older machine has come up that needs full restoration and is at what i think sensible money. My question is this, whats soldering and general repairs like to do on a pinball machine? I'm a mechanic by trade so not a stranger to repairing electrics but never done anything on such a major electrical scale. Would I need a desktop soldering iron or would my portable be ok. Are there any other special tools required to do a restoration? Thanks in advance for any advise.

General repairs is likely to be stuff like flipper rebuilds, replacing coil sleeves, general fault finding, swapping out failed switches etc, if its an older stern are we talking about DMD era?
If so the boards have proven to be quite reliable over time.
I would imagine being a mechanic you have quite a collection of tools, sure you would already have most of what's needed, although worth remembering that being US built, pins are imperial, a good set of imperial Allen keys and sockets are a must.

Will probably need some cleaning products, Naphtha (lighter fluid), IPA and Novus plastic polish are all good for cleaning and wax for the playfield.

I did a full playfield swap with a cheap £10 amazon soldering iron, portable I'm sure would be fine for under playfield work, PCB work you may be better off with something with proper temp control though, but that wouldn't be something you would need straight away.

Hello, Rob,