What's new

Primer before decals?

insx

Registered
Alias
Tim S
I've had a couple of people say that you should really paint a cabinet with primer (and sand/paint again) before applying decals. I've also noticed that Matt Adams in his youtube video doesn't do it and it's possible to get the wood very smooth with a 240 grit sand. What is gained by priming first? Is it just a better surface to stick decals to?

I don't because I like to keep it as close to original as possible. I like to do it the way it was done at the B/W factory.
It's not needed , just sand it down in stages, starting with 120 and working to 360/480.
Have fun.

I'd be happy to not do it but B/W screened paint onto smooth vinyl so neither way would exactly replicate that.

But I suppose the vinyl was stuck to bare plywood.

I’m no expert on decals but i did research it as an option for my pin.

If you’re looking for a super smooth finish then the yellow high build primer is worth trying. It’s like a cross between grey primer and spray on filler that covers scratches and any patterns left from sanding. You build up in thin coats and the finish can be really good.

Personally I’d rather try and retain authenticity as much as possible so a bit of grain coming thru is probably the way forward if that’s your style.

I always wondered how you get a clean edge around the corners and the button recesses where the decals get cut, (and would these catch and peel over time?)

Based on that and the condition of my cabinet being reasonable I’ve filled and sanded any chips, primed, and am about to airbrush the chips and then add some of the bleached colour back using frisket paper (for some reason only the red/orange is noticeably missing and the other colours have been way more stable).