What's new

PINBALLINFO IGNORANCE......THANK YOU...EXPERIENCE.

new forest pinball

Site Supporter
Alias
Keef.
hi all,
It was September 2015, I had been repairing pinball machines again for about 8 years. (Started in the eighties, stopped in 1993 as we became authorised repair agents for blaupunkt, clarion, Sony, Kenwood and pioneer car audio, this was a lot more profitable at the time, car audio was big then and lots of fun...the car manufacturers have killed pretty much all the fun out of modding cars these days, sadly).
After the financial crisis of 2008 working with pinballs was beginning to get tedious...customers expectations suddenly started to become unreasonable, for example.. "what! you charge for a call out"... "how much per hour!?" "If its more than £50 forget it" etc....(what we used to call in the car trade ...."the just be a fuse brigade"). I was starting to lose my pinball mojo for the very first time!
Being an arcade addict in the early eighties this was surely unthinkable! Then back to September 2015 something curious happened. (Phew I hear you say, at last back on topic!) I spotted @robotgreg old baywatch on eBay....oh, I must have that I thought, and here's where it gets interesting, many of my customers in the past had asked me "are you on pinballinfo what's your i.d.?" They would say. What's pinballinfo I would say to myself, but never out loud. Anyway so I agree a deal on baywatch and what does the seller ask me...you guessed it "are you on pinballinfo?" This time for some unexpected reason I said it out loud.."what's pinballinfo?" And the seller explained and I thought fantastico! How do I get involved? That member was @Spandangler aka gaz..cheers for that gaz!