What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How to fix lamp socket problems

AlanJ

Site Supporter
Alias
Alan
Hi Guys, newbie here, bought my first two machines a few months ago: Stern Star Trek Pro, and a 1979 Paragon.

The paragon suffers from lighting problems caused by poor contact within the lamp holders, Some of these look quite new, but still not working correctly. I have purchased some replacements and begun fitting them, but wondered if anyone had any tips to clean existing sockets please?

Welcome to the forum Alan :thumbs:

Got a similar issue with Hit The Desk at the moment that I need to sort out. First I always try using the lamp socket cleaning tool I bought from Pinball Resource years ago. It's basically an abrasive stick that you twizzle in the socket to clean it out a bit. Sometimes this is good enough but if not I use a small sanding drum on my dremel and buzz out the socket with that.

If still no joy then soldering the wire to the nipple on the back of the socket usually sorts things out :)