What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cleaning pin for first time.

RetroGamingBlog

Registered
Hi all,

I got my first pin a couple of months ago. An Alien SV. I love it. I haven’t done too much to it, but it’s looking like it needs a bit of a clean. The rubbers are black and there’s a bit of a greasy film over everything.

I’ve watched a few cleaning videos, but they are predominantly US focused. Some of the cleaning products are not familiar to UK Amazon.

I’d like to understand what to use to clean the rubbers and polish/clean the ramps.

I’ve seen nova is good for the acrylic.

I’m a total noob at this. I didn’t know if isopropyl would degrade the rubber at all, or if there’s a better solution. Is that fit for purpose?

The playfield has a protector on it. It’s looking dirty. I’m likely going to buy a new one, but if it can be cleaned, worth a shot.

Also is it best to replace the balls with new ones? The machine was used in a club.

Just use a good foam cleaner and cloth.

If you have any dirt left, try Novus 1.

And yes, if you did replace the balls when you bought it, replace them after the clean.

This is a good start.

I wouldn’t be removing the playfield protector without a super good reason. It might (probably will) do more harm than good.

If the rubbers are already silicone then just wipe them. If not better just replacing them with silicone ones.

This is a good start.

I wouldn’t be removing the playfield protector without a super good reason. It might (probably will) do more harm than good.

If the rubbers are already silicone then just wipe them. If not better just replacing them with silicone ones.
Just a query, how does it damage the playfield - removing the protector? I’ll order the foam now thanks for linking it.