What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bally Speak Easy

Andy Matthews

Registered
As a total newbie and having just acquired my first machine I have a million and one questions and truly hope that this page is the place to ask them.

That being the case I have two to start with.
I was given a Bally Speak Easy that requires some work. The top box is currently not connected to the rest of the cabinet and as such the wiring harness isn’t marked in any way to indicate which plug goes where. Being as at least two are the same size I wondered if anyone can advise.

Question 2:- The wiring to the lamps in the top section is twisted uninsulated copper by the looks of it that has corrosion or patina if you prefer. I suspect it will clean up ok but wondered why it’s uninsulated and if it’s ok to replace it with same gauge insulated or where I can source the correct wire from.

Cheers

I was given a Bally Speak Easy that requires some work. The top box is currently not connected to the rest of the cabinet and as such the wiring harness isn’t marked in any way to indicate which plug goes where. Being as at least two are the same size I wondered if anyone can advise.

The manual has a schematic of the backbox wiring the connectors and wiring colours, (it's online here page 9 of pdf http://mirror2.ipdb.org/files/2270/Bally_1982_Speakeasy_Schematics.pdf)

Generally each connector and header should be keyed differently even if the same number of pins.

Question 2:- The wiring to the lamps in the top section is twisted uninsulated copper by the looks of it that has corrosion or patina if you prefer. I suspect it will clean up ok but wondered why it’s uninsulated and if it’s ok to replace it with same gauge insulated or where I can source the correct wire from.