What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Aerobatics start up problem

Superleggo

Registered
Hi I Am new to the pinball world an have acquired an Aerobatics machine Which I and trying to get running. I had most of it working except a pop bumper and it played fine. However it has now developed a fault on start up. When I turn it on the score motor moves to the rest position and seems fine. However when I push the start button it resets the score board and then the score motor runs continually. The score reset relay also cycles continually so does one of the solinoids on the ball count unit. Any ideas on where to look. Thanks

Last edited:
Do the score reels reset to 0 and stop whilst this is going on? A common problem on EMs is that the zero position isn't detected by the switches on the reels which keeps the score motor running.

Btw, great machine I had one on loan for a while, it was a lot of fun but I wasn't keen on the electronic squeaks and squawks though!

I assume you mean Aerobatics - Aerobics would have been something though and Zaccaria would have done it justice:)

Reactions: DRD
Do the score reels reset to 0 and stop whilst this is going on? A common problem on EMs is that the zero position isn't detected by the switches on the reels which keeps the score motor running.

Btw, great machine I had one on loan for a while, it was a lot of fun but I wasn't keen on the electronic squeaks and squawks though!
The score reels reset to zero ok. One of them had a solinoid problem and I am waiting for a new on however if I set this to zero manually it did play ok. My machine does not. Make any noises so I guess that is another issue to look at later

One of 7 relays can start the score motor, shown on row 11 of the schematic, worth looking at what these are up to.