What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

UK Pinball league & 4 balls...

David_Vi

Site Supporter
Alias
DaveTheTrain
I have been deliberating about this post, especially as I'm new to the UK regional leagues and don't want to be seen as rocking the boat...

However.
The four ball thing is perplexing.

What is the reasoning behind this? The only reason I know so far is there's decades of statistics in the form of scores which are four balls.

But why is this even relevant when every machine plays differently. Some drastically. I spend a lot of time making our games play harder, where I bet in some cases you could get a higher score two weeks ago on three balls than when set to four on Sunday.
How can the data mean anything if you consider this?

Surely it would have been a good time to archive these stats and start fresh, especially with the inclusion of new regions.

I've spoken/asked a few people about it and they also don't understand it, so I thought it would be interesting to have a discussion or find the reasoning behind it?
Do people really look back years and compare scores?

Depends who you talk to. Some think four balls is unnecessary, adds more work, especially if you have to get to dip switches. Plus makes games play a lot longer.
I'm making most of ours a lot harder because I'm worried about timing. Then I've goto change them back to 3 balls for our evening strikes comp.

I thought the four balls might be from a time where there were less pins so more playing time.