What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Twilight Zone fuse F105 problem

Jonwolf

Registered
I am a novice when it comes to pinball diagnosis so I am a bit lost on this:

My TZ reset itself yesterday and now F105 blows each time machine is powered up. Solenoids 1 to 8 don't work.

I have unplugged connector J107 and F105 no longer blows when powered up.

I have used a multimeter to test resistance of all coils in the machine - reading of at last 5 for all coils. It was the first time I've used a multimeter so I hope I got it right.

Visual inspection of coils reveals nothing (although I'm not sure what I'm looking for!)

Any advice would be appreciated - it's taken me ages to get absolutely nowhere.

A quick but dirty way to ascertain what your problem is this.

Sol 1-8 are all driven via j130. So remove this connector

Reinstate J107 and F105.

Power on. Fuse should not blow as solenoids disconnected at J130.

Now offer up J130 but don't push it on. One of the connections will spark as you connect the short circuit.

This will identify your problem based on the number of the pin sparking at J130.

But now you'll have to check out the relevant coil, and replace the driving transistor on the circuit board and possibly components prior to this

Thanks, The board is currently at Pinball Heaven - been tested and it wasn't a board problem. If I do the J130 thing, will it damage anything on the board?

I was thinking I could also measure the resistance from J107-3 to each of the pins on J130 - would that tell me anything ?

This steep learning curve is almost vertical !

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

The board has returned by post and I am fitting it. I took photos of where the connectors go so all good - NOT!