What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

TAF Pop bumper solenoid not working

strongs

Site Supporter
I noticed today the top right pop bumper solenoid on my TAF isn't working so it's not "popping", might have always been like this as I've only owned it for about 6 months.

I noticed it after running through all the solenoid tests.

The wires are connected to the solder tabs on the solenoid and I think the coil windings are ok (need to double check)

I'm pretty new to pinball and repairs but would appreciate any advice.

Cheers

Get your multimeter and see if there is power at the coil for that bumper the same as the other two.

In switch test, see if moving the bumper skirt triggers the switch.

Then report back

Hi @cooldan many thanks for your reply.

Should there be constant power going to the coil all of the time? What should I set my multimeter to?

The switches appear to be working as I tested in game (the score increases when you press the bumper skirt down)

Constant power to all solenoids at all times during the game, yes. What makes them fire is by the board supplying ground. It does this when told to by the switch, and it does it by a signal from a chip to a transistor to connect up the ground. Either the power is missing, or the switch isn't registering, or the transistor has failed.

To test the voltage, put your DMM to DC volts and put the black lead on ground (the earth braid). Then the red one to the coil lugs. Should be I think 70v (maybe 50) at both lugs of all coils.

If the bumper switch triggers a score increase then that suggests it's being registered yes, but go into the menu and switch tests to check properly.