What's new

sttng wont stop putting balls into play

john bud

Registered
hi guys, im having a bit of a problem with a sttng, it keeps putting balls into play. eventually it goes into multiball but just keeps going. whilst im happy to rack up huge scores, i could do with a break now and again. i have read the other thread on the plunger and think possibly its a similar fault. it seems to be a problem at the top of the machine. i have never worked on a pinball before so its new ground to me. jon will be coming over at some point to help out, but im impatient and want a few credits just now.

i can hear something like a ball plunger going ??? i.e. trying to load a ball into something. my head is saying its a switch somewhere that is stuck. this is a learning curve for me so be gentle. any advice would be great.

cheers.

john bud

I would suspect the ball trough optos. A common fault on sttng (and others).

You will need to check your opto pcb that is connected to the ball trough (where the balls sit before they go into the shooter lane), Its at the front of the machine near the lockdown bar under the playfield. The transmitter board is the one facing you, so remove that board and turn it around so you can see the opto leds. Turn the power on the machine and look at the opto leds through a camera/camera phone (only a camera can see the infra red beam), if you see an led out, you have found your problem and will need to investigate futher. From my experience both the leds and the big blue resistors that are connested to the board can both fail.

If you find the pcb to be faulty, i happen to have a fully working one from an indiana jones that will fit it. £15 posted and its yours....Let me know via PM if this tickles your fancy...

if you can hold the board for a bit that would be superb
smile-1.png

sent out the smoke signals and a couple of hours later, scotlands finest shows up,
biggrin-1.png