What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Space Jam lamp matrix issue

BobWood

Registered
Hello, first of all, let me explain that I'm new to this pinball ownership stuff, so excuse me if I ask dumb questions or don't use correct terminology.. That said, here's my problem and what I've done so far.

I've had the machine for just over a week and it is playing very well, I have replaced a few blown lamps and given the play field a bit of a spring clean. Now the initial rush of playing the game is subsiding, I'm starting to take more notice of what is lit on the play field and it seem to be wildly optimistic on the bonuses and achievements so I decided to do some testing. Sure enough, when I go to diagnostics and do a single lamp test 5 lamps light. I scroll through all 8 columns and the same rows light in each case 1, 2, 4, 7 & 8.

I have had a trawl online and found something similar but their fixes (there were multiple instances of similar behaviour) ranged from checking each lamp diode hadn't been pressed to make contact with the lamp casing, through reseating the ribbon cable between MPU and CPU (I reseated any ribbon cable I could see and all other connectors just to make sure), the ultimate fix seemed to be have the board sent away and repaired.

My question is, is there a documented methodology for checking out lamp matrix issues, if so, does anyone have a link? Failing that, does anyone have any pointers I could follow?

Grateful for any pointers, it is not spoiling my enjoyment of the machine but, I've found, if you don't attend to issues as the appear, they tend to mount up and bite big time.

Regards
Bob

Not sure if I’ve understood your problem entirely, but this might help.

The way I do this is to check each connection to the row circuitry.