What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

ROAD SHOW FAULT: "Opto Trough Bad, Check wires, Connectors, 12 V Supply"

iHarvest

Registered
HI there,
Im hoping someone can help me out wit solving this one. Im pretty new to pins so a bit out of my depth.
So far i have tried different optos (both sides) from another machine and that doe not clear it.
I have also metered the 12vr 12.09 constant but 12vu is 15.44, not sure if that is relevent.
When I do a switch edge test and drop a ball all the switchs fire apart from the one for a jamed ball. I cant seem to get that one going but not sure if thats normal.
If i start the machine without any balls in, it fill it kicks them out a few times then sets to normal and it plays.

any help on this would be really apreciated, thanks

Iain.

Hi, Iain,

The original message is supposedly meant to convey that all the trough optic switches are faulty, but I think that the 'Jam Ball' switch would cause a symptom like this, and you've already tried what I'd have advised as a first check. Opto switches have extra circuitry to interface with the cpu board, contained on a '7 switch pcb' under the playfield (the trough can handle up to 6 balls, depending on the particular game). It's usually near to the trough, and can be identified by a line of up to 7 large resistors for the infra-red l.e.d transmitters - original fitment ones were a blue colour, AIR. This board is the next suspect, if the trough boards are okay. The larger of its three connectors is the 12v input, ground, and the connection to the machines' switch matrix proper, the other two are for the trough boards.