What's new

Help needed with Flash :o(

Steve C

Registered
Total noob at pinball repair, well total nob really (yes @JMP got it in before you said it) - more likely to blow it up!! :eek:

Ok Flash has been in storage/wrapped up/unplayed for over a year - turned it on and spat a ball out straightaway before I had chance to start a game, ball drained so then pressed start and started a game, plunged ball no scoring, flipped ball but then flipper died!! Turns on, lights up but nothing happens when start button pressed?

Where do I start?

If it involves soldering iron, no idea how to use one, or multimeter haven't got one :(

Unplug it. Remove the backglass and one by one, unplug and reseat every connector on the boards.

Unplug it. Remove the backglass and one by one, unplug and reseat every connector on the boards.

and if that doesn't work:

1. Got to ipdb.org, find the machine, and download the manual.

2. Using the manual, locate each fuse and and check it (get a cheap multimeter and use the continuity tester, Google it if you don't know how to).

3. Read the diagnostics section of the manual.

4. Repeat step 3 until you understand it.

5. Run all the diagnostics available including CPU self test.

6. Er.... Still stumped?

7. Find someone who lives nearby who knows how to fix it.

Thanks guys, will reseat tomorrow :)

1. Have a manual just got to find it

2. Can see most of fuses without manual but will doublecheck is case one is hiding in plain sight :) might order one of these from screwfix http://www.screwfix.com/p/lap-mas830b-digital-multimeter-600v/75337 should do the job? Then will google continuity :)

3. Read diagnostics - will do

4. understand diagnostics - might take some time!!

5. run diagnostics - lets see if I can understand it :)

6. hopefully not

7. nearest about 60/70 miles away :(

Will report back tomorrow.

Thanks guys, will reseat tomorrow :)

1. Have a manual just got to find it