What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Getting Started

RetroGamingBlog

Registered
Hi peeps,

ive been lurking over the last 6 months looking for a machine to buy. Decided to hold off as we’re going to be having a house extension. I was tempted as a few were on here for sale.

The extension has given me another 6-9 months pondering time.

I am definitely looking to purchase a pin after this timeframe. I’ve looked around the forum and most members seem to be based central - where as I’m in Devon. I’m completely new to pinball and I would have liked to get to know some members located closer to me - and get some advice.

I’m really keen on Heighway’s Alien Pin, I love the theme and everything about the playfield, but I know the company went under. Beyond that, the JJP Hobbit was another I almost purchased.
Is the Alien pin a bad first move? It seems hard to come by one for sale. But it just is perfect for me from all the videos I’ve seen.

What regular maintenance is required as a pin owner, and are there any threads, sites or videos that would help me further with this? I’m not technical on pins at all, owned an mvs cab in the past. I want to make sure I’m not biting off more than I can chew. :)

All pins play up. It’s the nature of the beast. It’s a box with metal balls being thrown at breakable parts all day long.

Avoid Alien as a first pin. You’re probably best going for a Stern/JJP or WMS game as they have the most support regarding repairs. Alien doesn’t have the same level of ready support / replacement parts.

Don’t stress too much about mist repairs. You will pick it up as you go along.

Don’t get fixated on buying your grail pin. Whatever it is you will get bored and decide to trade it (or just admit you are addicted and buy another 8)