What's new

Circuit Board Repair Options? WPC95

thelab

Registered
Alias
Vin!
Good people of Pinball Info, I'm hoping you can help a pin repair newbie or help point me in the right direction.

I have a TOTAN on very kind loan that came out of storage and worked for one game before giving up the ghost the next day, (Backglass lights only with one sound 'bong' but no DMD or playfield lit).

I'm new to pin repair, but thought out of courtesy to the owner that I should at least try and diagnose the issue myself and have offered to pay towards costs of repair.

I have changed the power lead, fuses, re-seated ribbons and checked everything I could (inc. board screws, coin door, all ribbons and connectors).

Turns out LED203 on the CPU board is not flickering, so the CPU is not booting up.

The last thing to try was to power the CPU board with nothing else attached, and LED203 still doesn’t light (LED201 stays on). So I checked for battery damage, and there is some, which may be the cause, eeek!

I'm not sure if the corrosion on the back is the cause, but as I don't have any electronics skills, who would you guys recommend I could (with owner's permission) send the board to for a price on checking/testing/fixing please?

Pics attached..

Thanks in advance!

VinWP_20170204_19_30_10_Pro.jpg WP_20170204_21_16_30_Pro.jpg WP_20170204_21_15_07_Pro.jpg

Best person for sorting out battery damage is @lukewells .
It's where every other repairman sends there boards to.

Vin

Can I lend you my world poker tour ?. Works perfect. I will stick it on a pallet to you

BTW beware Rottendog boards. They are a last resort option imho. Better to get a clean original board (these things have lasted for 20 yrs after all). Or get a repaired original

Ta

Best person for sorting out battery damage is @lukewells .
It's where every other repairman sends there boards to.