What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Buying Guide: Ex-Arcade, Home or Dealer

Calimori

Staff member
Alias
Calimori
Hello, my names Calimori and I am a noob.

As a noob but fringe pinball addict, I have been watching the prices of machines rise for years. I am also unfortunate the the machine I have lusted after is a TAF which has been particularly effected by crazy prices.

Now the introduction is out of the way I wanted to ask a serious question.

When I get my head into doing something I do it usually in an extreme way so I don't have too many things to regret later. I have identified three types of sellers of machines, they may be more but I have tried to simplify.

The Ex-Arcade/pub machine/seller: This has had a hard life, maybe has been moved about a bit and the cab shows the wear of all those people playing it. It won't be pretty and will be dirty in places but it could also be very well worked on mechanically. I have spoken to two such dealers who do not so much as want to sell on their stock but realise that there is less money in a 20 year old machine on a site and a lot more in selling it.

I personally know one guy and it took a lot of pushing for him to even take the pictures and put a price on the machine. His machine will work and come with spares, plus all the mechanics were rebuilt to last as best as possible for hard use for a year so they don't have to visit site.