What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Best method for cleaning plastic ramps? apart from buying new :)

Bayaz

Registered
Just a quick question about cleaning old smoky looking plastics on my TAF. What is the best method for making them look good - no cracks on the plastic so I'm reluctant to buy new ones. Also seeing as its spring cleaning time, what's the best 'process' for cleaning a diamond coat PF like TAF?

Remember I'm new to all of this, before you sigh :rolleyes:

Cheers

Noel

I just cleaned a smokey Atlantis ramp which I thought was supposed to be that colour :D. It's now clear. Just used Novus 2. The ramps on my i500 which has now moved on were absolutely sparkling, I think the previous owner put them in the dishwasher.

Buy yourself the following from Pinball Mania or Pinball Heaven (if you don't have it already):
  • Novus 2
  • Novus 3
  • Foaming spray cleaner
  • Carnuba wax (I recommend Gerlitz No1 guitar wax from Amazon)
  • Magic Eraser (Tesco, Asda etc)
  • Isopropyl Alcohol (Maplins)
  • Plenty of micro fibre cloths (Tesco, Asda etc)
Cleaning the ramp
  • Spray on the foaming cleaner and leave for a min to do it's thing
  • Wipe off the major gunk with paper towels
  • If the ramp is heavily scratched with ingrained dirt use Novus 3 and work it into the bad areas using a cloth (this will probably only be needed on the ball track if at all)
  • Let it dry to a haze and then buff off with a different cloth
  • With another cloth, work Novus 2 all over the ramp and let it dry to a haze
  • Buff off with yet another cloth :)
You should end up with a decent looking ramp after this. You can take it one step further and do some flame polishing but I'd advise leaving this well alone until you've practised on a scrap ramp.

Cleaning the playfield