What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Found it! An old PC to run MAME

JT.

Site Supporter
I've just taken delivery of an Astro Blast arcade cabinet which I'm going to run with MAME, but the old PC I had to run MAME on won't boot up. Does anyone have an old PC (actually, I just need the motherboard, processor and RAM) available? I've read that something like a 3Ghz Core 2 Duo would be ideal, but I'm no expert on MAME so feel free to comment if you think something less powerful would be OK.

Should be able to sort you out a 2 or 3ghz pc.

Probably be sata rather than ide

Im in Belfast though so postage may be costly. If you dont get sorted locally let me know.

Reactions: JT.
It depends if you want to run the newer versions of MAME and whether you want to use Windows. I've built MAME cabs before with 1.8GHz P4's that run perfectly with advancemame and advmenu in DOS. There used to be a boot disk called something like EasyCab that you could use to do the installation...

Is the Astro Blaster cab empty or just non-working? It would be a shame to break up a classic machine like that rather than restore it - and I've been after one for a while!

It depends if you want to run the newer versions of MAME and whether you want to use Windows. I've built MAME cabs before with 1.8GHz P4's that run perfectly with advancemame and advmenu in DOS. There used to be a boot disk called something like EasyCab that you could use to do the installation...

Is the Astro Blaster cab empty or just non-working? It would be a shame to break up a classic machine like that rather than restore it - and I've been after one for a while!