What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

3 or 5 Ball and why

replicas

Site Supporter
Alias
Nipper Pinball
As the title says, Whats your machine set to 3,5, or something else ?

Does a 3 ball game make you a better player ? or does a 5 ball game give you the chance to get the features you can't get on a three ball game ?

Both of mine are set to 3 ball. The way I see it, if I can get good scores with 3 balls then I'm making myself a better player. I do think that the older machines should be 5 ball, although thats probably because I'm not very good at them
smile-1.png

My (singular) table is set on 3 balls, factory defaults. As I'm getting more familiar with it I'm actually toying with the idea of taking out extra balls, and bumping up the difficulty. Batman Forever has an extra ball buy-in, which is sorely tempting when you're so close to that wizard mode, but with patience I finally made it to the wizard mode on factory default 3 balls last weekend. I think I didn't want to spoil myself and rush through the game

Or as Swiss Toni once said, owning a pinball table is like making love to a beautiful woman...

All 3 ball now. Have had 5 ball on FT but the game gets older, faster so for home use 3 ball games increase games longevity.

Phil Dixon' date=' post: 1688916 said:
3 ball on everything. If you want more earn it with an extra ball.

Was gonna say exactly the same - gives you the incentive to "earn" another ball...
smile-1.png

Matt Vince' date=' post: 1688922 said:
Mine are all set to 4 balls with no extras, as per UK league meets.

Ah at last. wonder why more of you competive people don't use this method?