What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Your rights after buying a new pin on here

mission65

Site Supporter
Alias
Tony Molloy
Having seen comments in a for sale thread for a very new Stern pin, people were asking if Pinball heavens warranty was transferable ?

I believe the answer is on the web site and is a big no, so even though the pin may be only a month old you have no rights of redress against Pinball Heaven, or Stern.

Having looked on line, you also have no claim against the seller on here as they are second hand goods from an individual.

If you buy from eBay you have rights because you are purchasing from an account, and if you buy through a credit card / paypal even more rights.

Please feel free to amend the above as I am no legal expert and have just visited consumer sites.

Also be aware that a lot of sterns boards are very expensive, and so you could be buying a huge money pit , so factor this in before you buy second hand.

I have no idea about warranties

But when you buy second hand, you are arguably taking less of a risk than buying new in box ....
  1. The niggles that new games come with have probably been sorted by the first owner
  2. You can see the thing, play it, test it out
  3. You can research what common problems these games originally had, and what owners/ manufacturers have done about it
  4. You pay less for the thing, and that saving may well eclipse the real value of a warranty
  5. There will be plenty of reviews out there, so you can make a more informed choice about what to buy in the first place

Seems fair to me, if you buy second hand it should be sold as seen, the risk you take for a substantial saving on NIB price.