What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Playfield protector installation

nugat

Registered
This is probably a stupid question and I think I know the answer, but just want some reassurance as I'm new to this hobby :)

I've ordered a playfield protector (from playfield-protectors.com) for a new Ghostbusters Pro, but looking at the playfield there are already some mylar(?) strips that have been installed at the factory. For example there is mylar applied immediately next to the left scoop.

Should I remove the existing mylar before installing the playfield protector or just leave it in place? I guess the answer is remove it, as otherwise the new playfield protector will create a tiny ramp over the existing mylar.

Any general tips on installing a playfield protector would also be appreciated, even if it's "don't do it" :) I plan to give the playfield a wipe with some Novus 2 and blow off any detritus with an air compressor.

Cheers!

So I read this thread, interested having had various reviews of it. I've had a TAF one for 3-4 months and not got around to putting it in as I'd been thinking of getting a new clearcoated playfield as I have a super nice mint TZ.

Anyway, I couldn’t sleep last night due to the humidity so I went in to my pins to set about putting in the playfield protector.

Onto the install:

Removed bottom flippers and bumper caps, exit lane wire guides, left-right wire guide, ramp. All ok apart from flipper bolts were a total sod to loosen and took me a while, WD40 to the rescue, will replace bolts!

Cleaned thoroughly.