What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pinball Magic Blowing Fuse F9

MajesticPinball

Site Supporter
Alias
James Reed
Evening everyone, my Capcom PM has started blowing the fuse at F9 on the power board which is a T4A fuse. This fuse powers the magic wand magnets. Currently the wand coils will magnetise and levitate 2 or 3 balls and then the fuse pops. If anyone has any ideas what could be the issue i would really appreciate it. Ive checked the coils and they seem fine and from what i can tell the transistor driving the coils is fine as well, could it just be the diodes accross the two coils in the wand causing this?

Thanks,
James

Hi. I have zero knowledge on Capcom games. Might it be a faulty bridge rectifier ? My FT began blowing fuses and this was the cause

I would usually dive straight in and test my way around the boards but I’m hesitant with the Capcom as i also dont know much about them either. When it arrived it was in gorgeous condition so I’ve just been enjoying playing it rather than tinkering with it.

Change the drive transistor first, it might be failing under load... Should the problem continue then I'd look for a short on one of the coils.

Ive just placed an order for a few transistors, hopefully thats the issue. Will report back soon with a working machine hoepfully!

Replced the transistor and the fuse still blows while carrying the ball down the wand. Retested the coils and theyre both coming out at 12ohms. Then i tested each diode across both of the coils with one leg out of circuit and one is testing at 690 and the other at 710. I reverse the DMM leads and both diodes read 1. Im using a super cheap backup multimeter at the moment so im unsure about the readings.

Whats your thoughts?