What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

My first pinball project

johnrw

Registered
Hi everyone,

Thought it was about time for an update!

Picked up my first pin on 16th December. Bought it as a project pin from Steve as electriccircusarcade

It’s a Playboy 35th Anniversary not my ideal choice but I was desperate to get hold of a project pin before the Christmas holidays so I would have some time to work on it.

I wanted a pin for 2 main reasons firstly to see if I still liked pinball been over 20 years since I played regularly and secondly to see if I liked working on them. I am an electronics engineer by trade but also do a lot of mechanical work.

Anyway the answer is yes to them both!

upload_2018-1-11_13-47-54.pngupload_2018-1-11_13-48-12.pngupload_2018-1-11_13-48-28.pngupload_2018-1-11_13-48-43.pngupload_2018-1-11_13-48-58.pngupload_2018-1-11_13-49-38.png

The machine was complete but not functioning and missing its display.

Here is a brief description of what I have done to date:

The machine had been stored somewhere damp at some point in its life it was very mouldy and all kickers and sling shots where seized solid.

upload_2018-1-11_13-50-23.pngupload_2018-1-11_13-50-37.pngupload_2018-1-11_13-50-51.pngupload_2018-1-11_13-51-6.png

Removed playfield and cleaned cabinet and top cabinet inside and out. Renewed and reworked earths and mains wiring.
upload_2018-1-11_13-51-32.png

Stripped down kickers slingshots pop bumpers and cleaned lubricated and reassembled them

Cleaned all contacts on switches, replaced most of micro-switches. Replaced bulbs.

Replaced burnt coil and measured then tested all other coils.

Checked all wiring and cleaned and tested all connectors.