What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

In Progress Laser Ball - Williams

James

Site Supporter
Alias
James
Ok - so as a complete newbie, I think I have made either a master stroke of a decision, or a complete £U!K UP - most likely the latter, I have just picked up a Willams - Laser Ball for next to nothing - the cabinet lights up, but does nothing after that (not even the digits light up) - I think I will need to check fuses first and look at reflowing some of the pins, but does anyone know of a place I can get started with some fault finding on this type of unit?

My wife has committed me to friends for dinner tonight, but I will be working it through tomorrow to see what I can see.

not familiar with this machine but usually the boards have leds on them - check what they are doing:

machine.cgi

is a link with the manuals.

before switch on look inside. check the wiring check the fuses check all connectors. download a schematic circuit diagram and manual from ipdb.org if they have it. check all board connectors. check for any burnt out connectors or components. you could also test out the coils with a multimeter. then if all ok switch on and check the power supply transformer is giving correct voltages. then the power rectifier board then the individual boards. the main cpu board first - i’m sure you’ll find something amiss.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ps. make sure it’s a 240v machine. is it possible it’s from usa and set to work on 110v ????

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Ok so I have had a quick mosey inside of the cabinet and found a few things out so far - it seems that someone has had a crack at this before and must have given up, not sure when though.