What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Complete Johnny Mnemonic re-decal etc

insx

Registered
Alias
Tim S
I've decided to restore my JM's cabinet. I was in two minds whether it's worth it as the playfield is never going to be mint but I would like the machine to look nice when it's installed into the man cave so I'm going for it. I've never done this before but at least I won't be learning on the most expensive game in the world. I'll give stuff a good clean up too but I won't be stripping and tumbling everything, reproducing every sticker or painting things you don't see. Wish me luck!

Boards out and head off (the new decals are between those cardboard sheets).

Boards out (Medium).jpg

Cab in bits (Medium).jpg

As I said, I won't be reproducing every sticker but I did want to cover the windows on these ROMs. The old stickers had fallen off most of them.

ROMs labelled (Medium).jpg

Today's little lunch time job was to remove some bolts and stuff from the backbox. A couple of corners will need some filling. I'm going for the sanding method to remove the existing art, I'm going to try my £40 orbital sander from Wickes first but I have a better one available if necessary.

backbox.jpg

I guess you would call this the point of no return. I can confirm that a £40 Wickes sander is perfectly adequate to remove WPC artwork.

sander (Medium).jpg

part-sanded-bb (Medium).jpg

clean-bb-side (Medium).jpg

It needs to be Baby skin Smooth @insx - Any slight flaws will be magnified 100x when the new decals are on.....

It needs to be Baby skin Smooth @insx - Any slight flaws will be magnified 100x when the new decals are on.....
Yep, I read that somewhere. I'm a long way off from sticking anything to anything.