What's new
Pinball info

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is there a better DMD?

Marcel

Site Supporter
Thinking of putting a colour DMD in my LOTR as I genuinely love the game, is there a better version of colour DMD, I've no experience of them at all and of I'm doing it, no point going half measures.

I’ve just put a colorDmD LCD in my lotr and it’s truly awesome.
I’ve got it set on high def and it changes the game completely.
The animations for lotr are some of the best on colordmd.
They’re not cheap but totally worth it 👍

Also the good thing about LCD is you have several different display choices whereas led you don’t.
There’s XL dots, tiles, hi res and a couple of others.

Yep not cheap, but I honestly think a colour display is the best mod for any dmd era pin… you won’t be disappointed.

You’ll be paying £480 after vat for a Color DMD from Shaun at PP.
But it’s the best upgrade out there and totally worth it.
Put up a wanted ad you can usually pick up a used unit at a discounted price .

^ I covered Colour screens here

LED vs LCD
It comes down to personal preferance
Some people like LCD and the different modes you can use
Some people like LED as they feel it is closer to the look of a plasma (What your game came with) display

You’ll be paying £480 after vat for a Color DMD from Shaun at PP.
But it’s the best upgrade out there and totally worth it.
Put up a wanted ad you can usually pick up a used unit at a discounted price .
It is not cheap - but keep your original DMD and when you sell the game - keep the colordmd and you can put it in your next game.

PIN2DMD - personally I do not like the big ones. Plus each game you put it in - you have to pay for all the colour files. Some games do not have colourisation.

LED vs LCD
It comes down to personal preferance